The Defiants Featuring Rob Marcello’s New Album “Zokusho” Is A Must Buy

What do you have in a band that has guitarist Rob Marcello in it?  A very good one.

The Defiants is a band put together by Paul Laine, Bruno Ravel, and Rob Marcello. Three fabulous musicians who, as fans in the know will immediately recognize, all have ties to the popular ’80s/’90s/’00s hard rockers, Danger Danger.

The Defiants sound is what I call the old traditional arena rock.  Just like Danger Danger is/was.  D2 gave us legendary guitarist Andy Timmons, we now have Rob Marcello.

I miss the old school arena rock that my generation grew up with.  The millennials have absolutely no clue about it with the exception of the few that have cool parents that shared this great music with their kids.

Best known for being the D2 vocalist on four studio albums over the course of 12 years, Paul Laine came back to work with his former bandmates Bruno Ravel and Rob Marcello, who are the other two pillars of The Defiants, for the band’s self-titled debut album in 2015.

The Defiants debut album was greeted with great acclaim as a glorious return to the “in your face” melodic hard rock that enraptured millions of fans back in the ’80s and ’90s and is currently enjoying a renaissance here in the 21st century, so a follow-up album was a no-brainer. The brand new album, “Zokusho”, a Japanese word meaning “the sequel” or “the next chapter”, is now set for release this fall.

This is a very good album with some exceptional musicians on it.  My only two complaints are this album won’t be appreciated by a wider audience due to people thinking arena rock is dead which it isn’t and The Defiants being signed to Frontiers Records that sign bands as much as I change my clothes and doesn’t give them the proper support to be successful in the ever-changing music industry.  Pick this album up on September on September 13, 2019, at your favorite outlets.


  1.   Love Is The Killer
  2.   Standing On The Edge
  3.   Hollywood In Headlights
  4.   Fallin’ For You
  5.   Hold On Tonite
  6.   Allnighter
  7.   U X’d My Heart
  8.   It Goes Fast
  9.   Stay


11.Drink Up!


Bruno Ravel: Bass

Paul Laine: Vocals, Guitar

Rob Marcello: Guitar

Steve West: Drums

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: