May 30, 2023
Sons Of Apollo's ‘Live With The Plovdiv Psychotic Symphony’ Is A Must Buy

When you put together former Dream Theater members Mike Portnoy and Derek Sherinian, Ron “Bumblefoot” Thal (ex-Guns N’ Roses), Billy Sheehan (The Winery Dogs, Mr. Big, David Lee Roth) and Jeff Scott Soto (ex-Journey, ex-Yngwie Malmsteen’s Rising Force) for a project, you know and expect the music is going to be nothing short of superior.

‘Live With The Plovdiv Psychotic Symphony’ is the latest release from Sons Of Apollo.  When I interviewed Bumblefoot last year when they were in concert here, our 30-minute interview turned into 3.5 hours.  Ron is one of the nicest people I’ve met in this industry.

There’s nothing new I can add that SOA fans already know, you have five musicians who are on top of their game.  When a band is looking for a guest keyboardist? Sherinian is the first name that pops up. Guitars? Bumblefoot. Drums? Portnoy.  Bass? Sheehan. Vocals? JSS.

This live DVD is different from say, the live DVD’s that Frontier’s Records pumps out yearly for every band that comes to their Frontiers Festival and goes through the motions.  It catches the spirit, intensity, and musicianship that makes Sons Of Apollo a premier band with top talent.

Jeff Scott Soto is one of the best vocalists in rock today.  He proves that on this record that he still has the pipes and doesn’t need background tracks like others.  I’m also glad that it seems that JSS is moving his career away from Frontiers Records and moving on to InsideOut/Sony.

If you’re a musician who enjoys watching the best of the best play live?  This live album/DVD is for you.  If you’re a rock fan wanting to feel the high energy and a great show that will keep you rocking and entertained, this is for you.  Sons Of Apollo did an excellent job with the Live DVD and the album sounds just as great.  Grab your copy when it comes out on 8/30

Pre-orders for all formats are now available here: https://soa.lnk.to/LiveWithThePlovdivPsychoticSymphony

The track-listing is as follows:

CD 1:

  1. God Of The Sun
  2. Signs Of The Time
  3. Divine Addiction
  4. That Metal Show Theme
  5. Just Let Me Breathe
  6. Billy Sheehan Bass Solo
  7. Lost In Oblivion
  8. Jeff Scott Soto Solo Spot (The Prophet’s Song / Save Me)
  9. Alive
  10. The Pink Panther Theme
  11. Opus Maximus

CD 2:

  1. Kashmir
  2. Gates Of Babylon
  3. Labyrinth
  4. Dream On
  5. Diary Of A Madman
  6. Comfortably Numb
  7. The Show Must Go On
  8. Hell’s Kitchen
  9. Derek Sherinian Keyboard Solo
  10. Lines In The Sand

CD 3:

  1. Bumblefoot Guitar Spot
  2. And The Cradle Will Rock
  3. Coming Home

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: