Pretty Maids Release Video For “Serpentine,” Announce New Album

“Undress Your Madness” is Pretty Maids’ highly anticipated follow up to 2016’s critically and commercially successful release “Kingmaker,” a record that continued the “revitalized” path that the band set out upon with the now stone-cold classic albums “Pandemonium” and “Motherland.” It’s always difficult to follow a successful and inspired record, but “Undress Your Madness” shows Pretty Maids are still in the freshest and most vital phase of their career since the early ’90s.

“I think the new album is a kind of continuation of what we’ve done the past ten years,” says singer Ronnie Atkins. “I’m pleased about the way it turned out ’cause there’s a lot of good songs on it in my humble opinion, and it’s probably even more melodic than our previous efforts.”

The production, as always, is stellar thanks to Jacob Hansen (Volbeat, Amaranthe, Kobra And The Lotus), who has given the band a sound that not only reinvigorates them but also incorporates the beloved soundscapes of the past. Modern and classic at the same time, if you will. “It’s just a match made in heaven, I think. There’s great chemistry between us, we share the same humor and thoughts about what a good song is, so there’s a lot in common,” continues Ronnie. “Quite simply the most gentle and easy going guy I’ve ever worked with.”

What can then be said about Ronnie Atkins and Ken Hammer? One of the best songwriting teams in the genre, hands down. Atkins’ voice gets better and better as the years go by. Menacing and vicious one minute, melodic and soothing the next. Likewise, Hammer is on fire here and lays down some of his most massive riffs in recent memory. Rene Shades’ bass playing is as loud as ever, propelling the incredible rhythms of the songs along with the superb drumming of Allan Sørensen, who’s playing matches correctly with what each song calls for. Chris Laney’s keyboards add a beautiful texture and nuance to these brilliant compositions, tying everything together in the perfect package.

Every track on this beauty is worthy of your attention, whether it is an in-your-face barn burner such as the storming opener “Serpentine,” the title track, and “Black Thunder” or timeless melodic metal anthems such as “Firesoul Fly” and “Will You Still Kiss Me (If I See You In Heaven)”, or even a superb power ballad like “Shadowlands”.

“The album was written in a concise period,” tells Ronnie Atkins. “It was written in January, just before recording it in February this year. So everything was very fresh when we entered the studio, in fact, so fresh that some of the songs were hardly finished when we started, but it all fell into place as we preceded with the recordings.”

The final result is “Undress Your Madness,” a record that has everything that Pretty Maids fans could ask for!

Pretty Maids Release Video For "Serpentine," Announce New Album


  1. Intro
  2. Serpentine
  3. Firesoul Fly
  4. Undress Your Madness
  5. Will You Still Kiss Me (If I See You In Heaven)
  6. Runaway World
  7. If You Want Peace (Prepare For War)
  8. Slavedriver
  9. Shadowlands
  10. Black Thunder
  11. Strength Of A Rose


Ronnie Atkins – Voice

Ken Hammer – Guitars

Rene Shades – Bass

Chris Laney – Keyboards

Allan Sørensen – Drums

Produced by: Jacob Hansen





Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: