August 15, 2022
Joe Satriani To Release Limited Edition 'Beyond The Supernova' Box Set




“I’m thrilled to be able to bring to you “Beyond The Supernova” on DVD. ZZ’s stunning film is more than a documentary, it is an art form unto itself and it tells a unique story that only he could have discovered. It’s a raw and revealing, behind the scenes look at a musician’s cathartic, artistic process while on a world tour. The film combines beautiful, evocative imagary and music with a backstage pass to a rock band’s romp through Europe and Asia. In addition to the DVD, we’ve included the film’s soundtrack with new original music from ZZ and myself, extended live tracks from the film, as well as ten bonus tracks. This has been a fantastic project to work on. Thanks to my team, crew, and family for their great work, and support. Enjoy!”  – Joe Satriani

Guitar icon, JOE SATRIANI, announces the release of his limited edition box set which includes a DVD version of the critically acclaimed documentary film “Beyond the Supernova,” which was filmed, edited, directed and produced by ZZ Satriani, while on tour in 2016 and 2017.  The film received high praise from fans and critics alike when it debuted last October at the Mill Valley Film Festival.

The collection, named BEYOND THE SUPERNOVA BOX SET, is packaged in a beautiful custom-designed acrylic box suitable for display and includes:

·         DVD version of the film

·         2 CDs featuring 32 songs of previously unreleased music (film soundtrack plus 10 bonus tracks)

·         A custom USB stick (shaped like JOE SATRIANI signature Ibanez!) loaded with the music and an HD version of the film

·         Five collectible guitar picks with original JOE SATRIANI art

·         Custom set of JOE SATRIANI “Shockwave Supernova” .010 to .046 guitar strings with extra 1st and 2nd strings included

·         Each set will include a certificate of authenticity signed by Joe and the film’s director, ZZ Satriani


·         As part of the pre-sale promotion, this high-value box set is being offered for $180.00 plus shipping and handling. After October 31, 2018, the price increases to $200.00 plus shipping and handling. Place your order now to ensure supply and receive the discounted price. Orders will ship on January 23, 2019.

For two decades, the guitar icon has traveled the world, playing to sold-out crowds as both a headliner and as the founder of the all-star “G3” guitar extravaganza.  SATRIANI’s studio and live recordings have sold more than 10 million copies worldwide to date and of his many solo albums, two have gone platinum and four others went gold, with 15 Grammy nominations between them.  His side project, Chickenfoot, featuring former Van Halen frontman Sammy Hagar, former bassist Michael Anthony, and Red Hot Chili Peppers’ drummer Chad Smith saw their debut album certified gold and their second studio album debuted at #9. SATRIANI is set to end his 2018 World Tour in celebration of his 16th solo album, What Happens Next, in December.  The tour launched on January 11th in Seattle, WA and will wrap up December 9th in India, shortly after visiting sold-out shows in Australia and New Zealand next month.

Beyond the Supernova Box Set Track listing:

CD 1 – Film Music and Bonus Tracks
01 “Project 4 ZZ Keys Only” (ZZ Satriani)
02 “Industrial Starstomper 1 With Guitar” (Joe Satriani)
03 “Project 4 Mix With Guitar” (ZZ Satriani)
04 “Travel Song 1 Asia” (Joe Satriani)
05 “Industrial Groove 1” (Joe Satriani)
06 “Travel Song 2” (Joe Satriani)
07 “Sagittarius (Live)” (Mike Keneally)
08 “Birthday Drone” (ZZ Satriani)
09 “Flying On Earth – Memory Song” (Joe Satriani)
10 “Surf Intro” (ZZ Satriani)
11 “Part Three Banger” (ZZ Satriani)
12 “Texas India – Celebration” (Joe Satriani)
13 “Crazy Joey Intro” (ZZ Satriani)
14 “Opening Song 1” (ZZ Satriani)
15 “Komat Ekomat” (Joe Satriani)
16 “ART 2016 Theme Song” (Joe Satriani)
* Total time 43:18

CD 2 – Live Film Music and Bonus Tracks
01 “Shockwave Supernova Live in Seoul” (Joe Satriani)
02 “Crazy Joey Live in Seoul” (Joe Satriani)
03 “Surfing With The Alien Live at Hellfest” (Joe Satriani)
04 “Singapore Soundcheck” (Joe Satriani)
05 “Oslo Encore” (Joe Satriani)
06 “Beijing Blues” (Joe Satriani)
07 “Singapore Blues Jam” (Joe Satriani)
08 “Lost In A Memory Remix” by John Cuniberti (Joe Satriani)
09 “Cataclysmic Remix” by Keith More (Joe Satriani)
10 “In My Pocket Remix” by Keith More (Joe Satriani)
11 “Stars Race Across The Sky Remix” by John Cuniberti with Eric Caudieux (Joe Satriani)
12 “Goodbye Supernova Remix” by John Cuniberti with Eric Caudieux (Joe Satriani)
13 “BBW DDL Jam Mix” (Joe Satriani)
14 “BBW #2 Mix” (Joe Satriani)
15 “BBW #3 Mix” (Joe Satriani)
16 “Music Without Words” (Joe Satriani, Robin DiMaggio)
* Total time 67:04

About the film:
30 years after the release of his multi-platinum selling album, Surfing with the Alien, Joe Satriani searches for the next step in his career. “Beyond the Supernova” is a tour documentary that offers a glimpse into the mind of the guitarist. Join Satriani while he performs music from Shockwave Supernova through Asia and Europe as he looks back on his career. We learn of the autobiographical concept behind the record and how it plays into determining Joe Satriani’s next creative step. We’ll also go behind the scenes of the Surfing To Shockwave World Tour featuring performances from Joe, Mike Keneally, Bryan Beller, and Marco Minnemann, as well as cameo appearances by guitarists Steve Vai and Guthrie Govan. (Duration: 58 min)

About ZZ Satriani
ZZ Satriani is a filmmaker based out of Los Angeles, CA. He earned his Bachelor’s Degree in Art History and Visual Arts from Occidental College, in 2015, with a focus on film production and studio arts. In late 2016 he began working for Commonwealth Projects, a creative projects company in Baldwin Hills Village. He continues to work here as a video editor and sound designer, as well as filmmaker, with clients that include musical artist Banks, The Annenberg Space for Photography, and TROPICS Juice Bar. He has also worked with Ibanez Guitars to create promotional videos for his father, Joe Satriani, who he frequently collaborates with.

To pre-order: http://www.satriani.com/discography/Beyond_The_Supernova_Box_Set/

To Follow Joe Satriani

Facebook:   joesatriani
Twitter:   @chickenfootjoe
Instagram:  joesatriani
YouTube:  JoeSatrianiOfficial

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.